GCSE Latin: 5th Declension Nouns

5th Declension

5th Declension nouns end in –es for the nominative singular.

The declension is mostly the same as the 3rd Declension, but with a dominant e in the stem.

There are only three 5th Declension nouns to learn at GCSE level.

5th Declension nouns are feminine, except dies, which is masculine.

dies, “day” (m.)
case singular plural
nom. dies dies
acc. diem dies
gen. diei dierum
dat. diei diebus
abl. die diebus

5th Declension Nouns for GCSE

dies (m.) day
res (f.) thing, matter, event
spes (f.) hope