Declensions Overview


A declension is a group of nouns which change their endings (according to number and case) in the same way. In Latin there are five regular noun declensions.

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th
singular nom. -a -us -us -es
acc. -am -um -em -um -em
gen. -ae -i -is -us -ei
dat. -ae -o -i -ui -ei
abl. -a -o -e -u -e
plural nom. -ae -i -es -us -es
acc. -as -os -es -us -es
gen. -arum -orum -um -uum -erum
dat. -is -is -ibus -ibus -ebus
abl. -is -is -ibus -ibus -ebus
Note that this is a simplified table. It only shows the most common forms for each declension and excludes the vocative. See individual Declension pages for notes on exceptions, particularly the neuter nouns in the 2nd and 3rd Declension.

At GCSE, the 2nd and 3rd Declension contain neuter nouns, which have exceptional, yet predictable, forms for their nominative and accusative cases.

Identifying which declension a noun belongs to, and knowing the forms for that declension, is absolutely key to understanding the Latin language.